Image default
Sri Lanka News

Senior army officers appointed to coordinate Covid-19 control work in each district

The Presidential Secretariat has appointed 25 Senior Army Officers for all districts to enhance island-wide coordination for COVID-19 control work effective from 01 January 2021, the Army said today(01st Jan).

The appointments have been made on the recommendation of General Shavendra Silva, Chief of Defence Staff, Commander of the Army and Head of the National Operations Centre for Prevention of COVID -19 Outbreak (NOCPCO).

General Silva awarded the selected officers the letters of appointment this morning.

Accordingly, the new office of those Chief Coordinating Officers would facilitate smooth conduct of district-wise Quarantine Centres, Transportation of Individuals for Quarantining and Treatment, Supply of Medicine, Equipment, Dry-rations and other Essentials and all other technical requirements as and when deemed necessary.

The Senior Army Officers who have been appointed as Chief Coordinators in 25 districts are;

Northern Province

1. Major General W G H A S Bandara – Jaffna

2. Major General K N S Kotuwegoda – Kilinochchi

3. Major General R M P J Rathnayaka – Mullaitivu

4. Major General W L P W Perera – Vavuniya

5. Major General A A I J Bandara – Mannar

North Central Province

6. Major General J C Gamage – Polonnaruwa

7. Major General H L V M Liyanage – Anuradhapura

North Western Province

8. Major General A P I Fernando – Puttalam

9. Brigadier P M R H S K Herath – Kurunegala

Western Province

10. Major General K W R de Abrew – Colombo

11. Major General N R Lamahewage – Gampaha

12. Brigadier K N D Karunapala – Kalutara

Central Province

13. Major General H P N K Jayapathirane – Nuwara Eliya

14. Major General S M S P B Samarakoon – Kandy

15. Major General S U M N Manage – Matale

Sabarammuwa Province

16. Brigadier J M R N K Jayamanna – Ratnapura

17. Brigadier L A J L B Udowita – Kegalle

Eastern Province

18. Major General C D Weerasuriya – Trincomalee

19. Major General T D Weerakoon – Ampara

20. Major General C D Ranasinghe – Batticaloa

Uva Province

21. Brigadier E A P Ediriweera – Badulla

22. Colonel D U N Serasinghe – Monaragala

Southern Province

23. Major General D M H D Bandara – Hambantota

24. Major General W A S S Wanasinghe – Galle

25. Colonel K A U Kodituwakku – Matara

Related posts

“We are planning to exhume dead bodies to find if Sara is among the dead”; Easter Attack

Lanka Post

Vaccination will begin today at 06 hospitals in the Western province

Lanka Post

A Sri Lankan athlete who swam from Sri Lanka to India has set a new record

Lanka Post